What is a retreat?

Meditation in retreat

The significance of retreats: “In order to get the best possible benefit from our increasingly precious time, it is very useful to spend time in an existing enlightened power field. Although the truth state is the same everywhere, the power fields of the joy state condense most strongly where the blessings for them have been specifically placed. The desired increase in mental surplus will be more effective in such places. The prerequisite for the full advantage of such a retreat is the protection of Buddhist refuge and the decision to follow the Diamond Way path of the Karma Kagyu lineage.” Lama Ole Nydahl

What is the difference between a retreat and daily meditation?

One learns to know ones mind through meditation. In this process we loosen the hold of inner habits and outer expectations. A retreat of several days or weeks tremendously amplifies this effect by creating more distance to everyday life. Without the distraction of daily life minds calmness and insight can be more deeply and fluidly experienced. The Diamond Way view allows us to connect the experiences of a retreat with those of daily life.

Please note: The requirements for doing a retreat here are that one has taken Buddhist refuge from one of our teachers and has taken part in at least one introductory course.

What are the different types of retreats?

Each practitioner decides for him- or herself on the length and content of a retreat. For beginners open retreats are meaningful: It this case, one does four sessions per day; the length of the sessions is variable. In the remaining time one helps out a bit in the center and has a natural exchange with the Sangha. During closed retreats one does not talk to others and eats meals alone. This type of retreat is only useful when one already has a few years of experience with Diamond Way meditation.

The Tibetan word for retreat “Tsam” means “separation”. Not leaving the retreat site during the time of retirement is a protection for the meditation practice. Since we view our center primarily as a retreat center, we suggest you follow this advice. If you would like to vacation in the area you are welcome to stay in a bed and breakfast and take part in our evening meditations.

Was ist Retreat?

Meditation in Zurückgezogenheit
“Um aus der immer kostbarer werdenden Zeit den größtmöglichen Gewinn zu ziehen, ist der Aufenthalt in einem schon aufgebauten Erleuchtungsfeld sehr nützlich. Obwohl die Wahrheitsebene überall dieselbe ist, verdichten sich die Kraftkreise der Freudenebene am stärksten dort, wo der Segen dafür gezielt gelegt wurde. Der erwünschte Aufbau von geistigem Überschuss wird an solchen Stellen wirksamer sein. Voraussetzung für den vollständigen Vorteil einer solchen Zurückziehung ist der Schutz der buddhistischen Zuflucht und der Entschluss, den Diamantweg der Karma Kagyü Linie zu gehen.” Lama Ole Nydahl

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Zurückziehung und täglichen Meditationen?
Durch Meditation lernt man den Geist kennen. Dabei versuchen wir, uns von festgefahrenen inneren Mustern und erwarteten äußeren Rollen zu lösen. Eine Zurückziehung von mehreren Tagen bis Wochen verstärkt diese Wirkung deutlich, indem sie mehr Abstand zum Alltag schafft. Nicht abgelenkt durch die Geschäftigkeit des Alltags, werden Geistesruhe und Einsicht fließender und tiefer erfahren. Durch die Sicht des Diamantweges kann man die Erfahrungen einer Zurückziehung und die des täglichen Lebens verbinden.

Hinweis: Voraussetzung für ein Retreat bei uns ist, dass man die buddhistische Zuflucht bei einem unserer Lehrer genommen hat und zumindest an einem Einführungskurs teilgenommen hat.

Welche Arten von Zurückziehungen gibt es?
Länge und Gestaltung eines Retreats bestimmt man selbst. Für Anfänger sind offene Zurückziehungen sinnvoll. Hier nimmt man sich vier Sitzungen am Tag vor, wobei die Länge der Meditation variabel ist. In der verbleibenden Zeit hilft man etwas im Zentrum und hat dadurch ganz natürlich Austausch mit der Sangha. Bei geschlossenen Zurückziehungen spricht man nicht mit Anderen und nimmt auch die Mahlzeiten alleine ein. Diese Form von Zurückziehung ist erst dann sinnvoll, wenn man bereits einige Jahre Erfahrung mit Diamantweg-Meditationen hat.

Retreat, im tibetischen “Tsam”, bedeutet “Abgrenzung”. Den Ort des Retreats für die Zeit der Zurückziehung nicht zu verlassen, ist ein Schutz für die Meditationspraxis. Da wir unser Zentrum hauptsächlich als ein Retreatzentrum verstehen, raten wir euch dazu. Wenn ihr Urlaub machen möchtet, könnt ihr gerne extern in einer Pension wohnen und dann an der abendlichen Meditation teilnehmen.